Teachers in Local Authority schools have five days each year when they work in school without the children present. These ‘In Service Training’ days are called ‘INSET days’ for short.

Academy schools can determine their own number of inset days.

The inset days we’ve been told about are listed here. We suggest you also check with the individual school.

There are a few schools that also set their own term dates calendar – please check with your individual school.

Check school term dates for the majority of schools

Inset DaysSchool
Friday 3 May 2024Trafalgar School
Friday 17 May 2024St Georges Beneficial Primary School
Friday 24 May 2024Flying Bull Primary Academy
Gatcombe Park Primary School
Milton Park Primary School
Westover Primary School
Monday 3 June 2024Highbury Primary School
Medina Primary School
Milton Park Primary School
Wimborne Primary School
Wimborne Primary School
Friday 7 June 2024Westover Primary School
Monday 10 June 2024Corpus Christi Catholic Primary School
Wednesday 12 June 2024Stamshaw Infant School
Stamshaw Junior School
Friday 14 June 2024Mary Rose Academy
New Horizons Primary School
Monday 17 June 2024Fernhurst Junior School
Springfield School
Wednesday 19 June 2024Arundel Court Primary Academy
Friday 21 June 2024Copnor Primary School
Mayfield School
Solent Infant School
Solent Junior School
The Wymering School
Monday 24 June 2024Copnor Primary School
Craneswater Junior School
Priory School
Solent Infant School
Solent Junior School
Tuesday 25 June 2024Priory School
Friday 28 June 2024Beacon View Primary Academy
Bramble Infant School & Nursery
Castle View Primary Academy
Harbour School
Kings Academy
Northern Parade (Infant and Junior)
Portsdown Primary School
Southsea Infant School
St Johns Catholic Primary School
St Pauls Catholic Primary School
St Swithuns Catholic Primary School
Victory Primary School
Friday 5 July 2024Ark Ayrton Primary Academy
Ark Charter Academy
Corpus Christi Catholic Primary School
Devonshire Infant School
Fernhurst Junior School
Manor Infant School
Miltoncross Academy
Penbridge Infant School
Penbridge Junior School
Monday 8 July 2024Ark Ayrton Primary Academy
Arundel Court Primary Academy
Court Lane Infant
Court Lane Junior
Flying Bull Primary Academy
Highbury Primary School
Langstone Infant Academy
Langstone Junior Academy
Medina Primary School
Stamshaw Infant School
Stamshaw Junior School
Wednesday 10 July 2024Wimborne Primary School
Monday 22 July 2024The Portsmouth Academy
Tuesday 23 July 2024The Portsmouth Academy
Wednesday 24 July 2024Beacon View Primary Academy
Castle View Primary Academy
Cliffdale Primary Academy
Corpus Christi Catholic Primary School
Court Lane Infant
Court Lane Junior
Cumberland Infant School
Langstone Infant Academy
Langstone Junior Academy
Meon Infant School
Meon Junior School
Moorings Way Infant School
St Johns Catholic Primary School
St Judes CofE Primary School
The Portsmouth Academy
Victory Primary School