7.1 Role

The Cabinet comprises a Leader with Cabinet Members and will carry out all of the city council’s functions which are not the responsibility of any other part of the city council, whether by law or under this Constitution.

7.2 Form and composition

The Cabinet will consist of the Leader together with at least 2, up to 9 (not more than 10 in total), councillors appointed to the Cabinet by the Leader.

7.3 Leader

The Leader will be a councillor elected to the position of Leader by the council.

The Leader will hold office for 4 years or until:

  • 7.3.1. he or she resigns from the office;
  • 7.3.2. he or she is no longer a councillor; or
  • 7.3.3. he or she is removed from office by resolution of the council; or
  • 7.3.4. he or she is otherwise disqualified by law

7.4 Other Members of the Cabinet

Neither the Lord Mayor nor Deputy Lord Mayor may be appointed to the Cabinet and members of the Cabinet (including the Leader) may not sit on scrutiny panel. Only councillors may be appointed to the Cabinet. There may be no co-optees and no deputies or substitutes for Cabinet members.

Other Cabinet members shall hold office until:

  • 7.4.1. they resign from office or;
  • 7.4.2. they are no longer councillors; or
  • 7.4.3. they are removed from office by the Leader of the Council.

7.5 Proceedings of the Cabinet

Proceedings of the Cabinet shall take place in accordance with the procedure rules set
out in Part 3 of this Constitution.

7.6 Responsibility for functions

The Constitution will set out the functions of the Cabinet Members.