Follow the link to find out more information about cycling around Portsmouth.

Cycle security marking

Portsmouth City Council and Hampshire Constabulary are joining forces to offer students and residents free security marking for their bikes.

Each bike will be permanently marked with a unique code, and added to the national Bike Register database. Security marking is a useful tool in helping to reunite bikes seized by police forces across the UK with their owners. It can also act as a deterrent to would-be thieves as the bike is permanently inscribed, making it less easy to sell.

Security marking will be offered for free on a first come, first served basis. On the dates marked 'university' we will be located outside the University of Portsmouth Library on Cambridge Road from 1-3pm. On the dates marked 'Commercial Road' we will be located by the fountain in Commercial Road - please note the time indicated below - just look out for the Bike Doctor marquee. Upcoming dates are as follows:

  • Thursday 21 February - University (1pm - 3pm)
  • Wednesday 6 March - Commercial Road (10am - 12pm)
  • Thursday 21 March - University (1pm - 3pm)
  • Wednesday 3 April - Commercial Road (10am - 12pm)
  • Wednesday 17 April - Commercial Road (10am - 12pm)
  • Thursday 2 May - University (1pm - 3pm)
  • Thursday 16 May - University (1pm - 3pm)
  • Wednesday 29 May - Commercial Road (10am - 12pm)
  • Wednesday 12 June - Commercial Road (10am - 12pm)
  • Wednesday 26 June - Commercial Road (10am - 12pm)
  • Wednesday 10 July - Commercial Road (10am - 12pm)
    • Wednesday 24 July - Commercial Road (10am - 12pm)
      • Wednesday 7 August - Commercial Road (10am - 12pm)
        • Wednesday 21 August - Commercial Road (10am - 12pm)
          • Wednesday 4 September - Commercial Road (10am - 12pm)
            • Wednesday 18 September - Commercial Road (10am - 12pm)
              • Thursday 3 October - University (1pm - 3pm)
              • Wednesday 16 October - Commercial Road (10am - 12pm)
                • Thursday 31 October - University (1pm - 3pm)
                • Wednesday 13 November - Commercial Road (10am - 12pm)
                  • Thursday 28 November - University (1pm - 3pm)
                    • Wednesday 11 December - Commercial Road (10am - 12pm)

For more information visit the Bike Register website.

Locking your bike

It's always best to use two locks. Go for different types of lock, for example, a strong D-lock and a sturdy chain lock. This means that a thief will need different tools to break each lock, making theft less likely.

  • lock both wheels and the frame to a bike stand or strong, immovable object
  • lock 'tight' so your bike is hard to manoeuvre when parked
  • secure your lock so it does not touch the ground

Buy a decent lock (or two). Before visiting a bike shop, check Sold secure to see which locks are most secure. Expect to pay £40 upwards for a secure locking system. Portsmouth City Council sells highly discounted D-locks at the Civic Offices - find out more on the cycling around Portsmouth page and check out the pricelist

Get insurance

Check if your home insurance already covers your bicycle when it is away from your home. Also, check that the total value of your bike is covered.  If you have an expensive bike it may be necessary to insure it separately.  

Keywords

Tags Open / Close

Related subjects Open / Close

Rate this page