Party: Liberal Democrat

Title: Deputy Group Leader

Ward: St Jude

Terms of office: 

  • 10/04/2004 - 01/05/2008
  • 01/05/2008 - 03/05/2012
  • 03/05/2012 - 05/05/2016
  • 05/05/2016 - 07/05/2020

Declarations at meetings


Councillor Hugh Mason was born on 10 August 1941 and grew up in south east London. He completed an MA at St John‘s College Cambridge University, and a PhD at the University College of Swansea. He married Dinah Grace Akello in 1983 and has four stepsons.

Cllr Mason has worked at the University of Portsmouth (and its former names) since 1968 as a Lecturer, later Principal Lecturer, and is currently Associate Lecturer in economic geography.

He enjoys hill walking, travel, theatre, music, good beer and good company.

Cllr Mason's council roles have included:

  • Chair of Southsea Town Council 1999-2000 and 2001-2003
  • City Council - Executive Member for Education 2006-2007
  • Executive Member for Culture and Leisure 2007
  • Executive Member for Housing 2007-2008
  • Cabinet Member for Resources and Deputy Leader of Council 2008 to May 2014

Surgery details

Every Thursday at Southsea Library, Palmerston Road from 4.45pm to 5.45pm. No appointment needed.

Contact details 

Home address:  
32 Chelsea Road 

Phone: 023 9281 6794

Business email:

Download Councillor Hugh Mason contact details as VCard

Additional information 

Trade Union activity: Association of Polytechnic Teachers, Assistant National Secretary 1979 - 1997; Association of University Teachers, National Executive Member 1997-98 & 1999-2005.

Consultant: Eastern & Southern Africa Universities‘ Research Programme - research, consultancy, writing books and articles, conference facilitator.

Church activity: member of Portsmouth Diocesan Synod 1981 to date, Lay President of Diocesan Synod 1998 - 2007, Lay Canon of Portsmouth Cathedral 2006 to date.

Political activity: Secretary & Agent Portsmouth South Liberal Party 1974 - 1984, stood as candidate for City Council 1976 and frequently thereafter, elected Southsea Town Council 1999 to 2010, elected Portsmouth City Council 2004 to date.