Following the annual meeting of the full council today (Tuesday 15 May), a new minority administration will now run Portsmouth City Council.

Liberal Democrat group leader Cllr Gerald Vernon-Jackson is the new Leader of the Council, with Cllr Steve Pitt as his deputy.

Cabinet members have been appointed by the Leader of the Council as follows:

  • planning, regeneration and economic development - Cllr Ben Dowling
  • education - Cllr Suzy Horton
  • children’s services - Cllr Rob Wood
  • adult social care and public health - Cllr Matthew Winnington
  • environment and community safety - Cllr Dave Ashmore
  • resources - Cllr Jeanette Smith
  • housing - Cllr Darren Sanders
  • traffic and transportation - Cllr Lynne Stagg
  • culture, leisure and sport - Cllr Steve Pitt

Earlier today, councillors elected a new Lord Mayor of Portsmouth, Cllr Lee Mason, and a new Deputy Lord Mayor, Cllr David Fuller.