On this page you will find information about the Early Help and Prevention Service for professionals. There is also a list of resources in the documents section. Read more about the service on the Early Help and Prevention page.

Making a referral

You can access support from The Early Help and Prevention Service by sending an Inter-Agency Contact Form with or without an Early Help Assessment to the Multi Agency Safeguarding Hub (MASH) at pccraduty@portsmouthcc.gcsx.gov.uk for a decision around whether an Early Help response or Children and Families Services response is required.

MASH will forward the referral to the Early Help and Prevention team and they will inform the referrer of the outcome within 24 hours of receiving the information.

Request for additional help around single issues such as addiction problems, healthy weight, smoking cessation etc can be made directly to the Early Help and Prevention inbox: EarlySupportReferralPanel@Secure.Portsmouthcc.gov.uk.

Tier 2 co-ordinators

Tier 2 co-ordinators work in the Multi Agency Safeguarding Hub (MASH) Early Help Team to help when cases are assessed as meeting a Tier 2 threshold. The co-ordinators will assist in identifying support needs with the family and act as a critical friend to guide the professional network in undertaking a plan of support including Early Help Assessments (EHA), meetings and effective family plans. Tier 2 co-ordinators support Portsmouth Safeguarding Children Board training in Early Help procedures and advise professionals in the city about procedures, local support services and facilities that may be available for a family. Co-ordinators are mainly locality based and can be reached on the numbers below:

North Locality - Denise Hooper
Mob: 07824525176  
Tel: 023 9243 7633
Email: Denise.Hooper@portsmouthcc.gov.uk

Central Locality - Sonja Barrand
Mob: 07961 333529
Tel: 023 9284 1574
Email: sonja.barrand@portsmouthcc.gov.uk

South Locality - Jo Thompson
Mob: 07392 280787
Tel: 023 9283 4364
Email: jo.thompson@portsmouthcc.gov.uk

Contact information

The following people can be contacted with any questions or concerns:

Head of integrated Early Help and Prevention

Kate Slater
Tel: 07720 947345
Email: Kate.Slater@Solent.nhs.uk

Operational managers (0-5 years)

Lorraine Fenner (North & South)  
Tel: 07770 703844
Email: Lorraine.Fenner@Solent.nhs.uk

Karin Downer (Central)
Tel: 07825 754466
Email: Karin.downer@solent.nhs.uk

Carol Stevens (ECHO)
Tel: 07393 006045
Email: carol.stevens@solent.nhs.uk

Early Help and Prevention locality managers

Ed Brennan (North)
Tel: 07785 246419
Email: Edwina.Brennan@Portsmouthcc.gov.uk

Gill Noble (Central)
Tel: 07951 497340
Email: Gill.Noble@Portsmouthcc.gov.uk

Anthony Harper (South)
Tel: 07930 505998
Email: Anthony.Harper@Portsmouthcc.gov.uk

Rate this page

Feedback