The results of the Portsmouth City Council elections on Thursday 4 May have been announced following a count at the Guildhall, Portsmouth.

One seat in each of the council’s 14 wards was up for election this year and the political make-up of the council is now: 18 Liberal Democrats, 8 Conservative, 7 Labour, 6 Portsmouth Independents Party and 3 non-aligned independents.

The council’s administration will be decided at the annual general meeting on 16 May.

There are 42 seats on Portsmouth City Council. Prior to the election the council comprised:

  • Liberal Democrat – 17
  • Conservative – 13
  • Labour – 6
  • Portsmouth Independents Party – 3
  • Non-aligned independents – 3

You can view the full breakdown of the results by ward and political party here.